Popular topics: Downloads HDL300 system installation guide Download Room Manager Other downloads Room Manager features overview WM408i installation guide and drawings Installation guides and drawings Enabling QuickShare on your canvas ► HDL300 system integration guide Span Workspace WM210i and WM307i technical requirements Using the auxiliary ports Microphone clearance requirements and recommendations System connection diagram Setting up SSO (single sign-on) Can I connect my computer wirelessly to the projector? Screen share troubleshooting Adding a bookmark to your mobile home screen ► On-screen image alignment and touch calibration Creating your own template ►

Creating groups

Create groups and subgroups (groups within groups). Also, edit, pin, duplicate, colorize and add hyperlinks to the groups.

Use groups to organize notes, images, sketches, text and shared screens on your canvas. Content added to a group moves together when the group is moved around the canvas. Groups can be placed within a larger group to help with categorization and organization. 

Create groups from:

  • The Span web client using a certified mobile browser
  • The Span web client using a certified computer browser
  • Span Workspace wall client


Create a group

On the web

  1. Select Group from the toolbar
  1. Give the group a title and click Done
  2. The group will automatically be added to your tray where it is only visible to you. Once you drag and drop the group onto your canvas, it becomes visible to the other canvas participants.

Rename the group by double-clicking the group while it's in the tray, or double-clicking the header if it's on the canvas.

  1. Add notes, images, sketches and text boxes to the group either by dragging the items inside the group or by tapping on the group and using the corner to drag the group around the items     


Alternatively, access the dwell menu by right-clicking the canvas in the web client. This action will skip adding the group to your tray, and instead place it directly on the canvas.


On the wall

  1. Press and hold your finger or stylus on the canvas to bring up the menu
  2. Tap Group
  1. Double-tap the group's header to add or edit the title

  1. Tap Done to close the editing box


Subgroups

You can add smaller groups inside larger groups to create subgroups. The subgroups will move when the larger group is moved, and you have the option to pin the subgroups to prevent them from moving while you arrange content within the larger group.

Keep in mind that deleting the large group will delete all the subgroups and content inside of it. 



Starting inking

Inking is only possible from the Span™ wall.

  1. Click the edit icon    on the quick tools bar, or select Edit from the three-dot menu.

 

  1. Choose a color and draw on the group

  1. Click Done when finished


Adding color to a group

  1. Click on the group or subgroup
  2. Open the color options icon in the quick tools menu and select a color

Notes within the group will change to the color selected.


Changing group name

  1. Double-click on the group's header or select Rename from the three-dot menu

You can also access the three-dot menu by right-clicking the group on the web, or pressing and holding in the wall software.

  1. Click the Done button or anywhere on the canvas to save the new name


Duplicating or deleting a group

  1. Duplicate the group by either clicking the duplicate icon    in the quick tools bar, or selecting Duplicate from the three-dot menu

If the group is in your tray, it will create a duplicate in your tray. If the group is on the canvas, it will create a duplicate directly on the canvas.

  1. Select Delete from the three-dot menu to remove the group from your tray or the canvas 


Pinning the group to the canvas

  1. Click the pin icon    on the quick tools bar, or select Pin from the three-dot menu to attach the image to the canvas background and prevent it from being moved
  2. To undo pinning, open the menu again and select Unpin

 

Hide or show the subgroup pins from the templates three-dot menu on the quick tools bar.


Clearing group content

  1. Select Clear content from the group's three-dot menu.

  1. Click Clear content when prompted to confirm. The groups content will be deleted. This cannot be undone.




Last updated: March 10, 2019

Was this article helpful?

Can’t find what you’re looking for?

Contact Support

1.844.370.2111